Sony PlayStation 4
- Turn off Playstation 4.
- Hold The power button down, you will hear an initial beep, keep the button held until you hear a second beep.
- Once you hear the second beep, release the power button and the safe mode screen should be showing.
- Restart System - Exits Safe Mode and restarts the PlayStation 4 back into the XMB.
- Change Resolution - Changes the screen resolution to 480p when the PlayStation 4 is restarted.
- Update System Software - Allows the PlayStation 4 to update the system software via Internet, USB Drive, or Disc.
- Restore Default Settings - Restores the PlayStation 4 to the default factory settings.
- Rebuild Database - Scans the drive and creates a new database of all content. This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.
- Initialize PS4 - All data and settings will be lost by performing this step. This deletes all user data and restores the PS4 to as if it just came out of the box. This option is the same as the [Initialize PS4] option in the Settings menu. System software or firmware is not deleted from this option. Essentially, this will erase all your personal data and restore to a factory reset.
- Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software) - This deletes all information on the HDD including the System Software. A message that states a USB storage device containing the System Software must be connected is displayed. Then you can confirm the selection. This too is a factory reset mechanism, but it requires reinstalling the system software as well.